top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDavid Lewis

Content or Discontent?

Updated: Oct 3, 2020


Have you ever noticed how discontented many Christians are today?

It seems like everything in their life is wrong...the wrong job, the wrong friends, the wrong church, the wrong neighborhood, the bank account is too low, the spouse doesn't show enough affection, the spouse shows too much affection, there is no spouse and there should be, there is a spouse but should there be? Our neighbors are not friendly, out neighbors are too much in our business, the people in charge don't do enough, the people in charge take too much power...

It's too cold where I live, it's too hot where I live, or I'm bored because our weather is the same all the time...I live in the city, but hate city life; I live in the country, but there's nothing to do, and it's so far to drive to the city...

My boss hates me, my job is boring, my job is stressful, I don't have enough to do, or I have too much to do and no one else cares if the job is done. I can't make my boss happy no matter how hard I work...

The pastor is not friendly to me and plays favorites; the pastor is too friendly, I think he's flirting with me. He had better watch that...

The pastor has too much power in the church; the board has too much power and shouldn't tell the pastor what to do. Our type of church government isn't right.

Our worship style is too modern or our worship style is too traditional. Our praise band sounds like a rock band, or our choir sounds like they are singing for a funeral...

Doctrine is important; I wish we had more teaching in that area. We are too legalistic from all that doctrinal stuff, I wish we were more relevant in our church.

And on and on it goes. There is always something to complain about. Christians should be above that, as our example is to be content with what we have.

Paul said "I have learned that in whatever state I am, to be content" (Philippians 4:13).

Unfortunately, we often wish for more from our relationships than what God has given to us. Most often, it is us that need to change our wants, as God has supplied our needs.

Sometimes it's as simple as sowing a new seed.

I believe that the law of Sowing and Reaping applies to the feelings of contentment or discontentment. We find the law taught in the book of Galatians, in chapter 6, verse 7:

"Do not be deceived, God is not mocked. For whatever a man sows, this he shall also reap."

The word translated as deceived comes from the greek word "planeo", which means "to cause to stray, to lead astray, to wander or roam about". Sounds a bit like discontentment to me.

The definition of the word "sows" is made broader by the word "whatever". This is not just a scripture about finances, as many preach. This verse tells us that WHATEVER we sow, that is what we will reap.

That applies to love, hate, forgiveness, friendship, understanding, vindictiveness. The greek word for "whatever" means "Whatever"!

Luke 6:38 expands on this teaching using the words of Jesus: "Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be poured into your lap. For with the same measure you use, it will be measured back to you."

Basically, our Lord was telling us that whatever we sow is multiplied back. Again, whatever means whatever.

Are you suffering from a lack of friends? Sow a seed by being a friend.

Is your boss treating you badly? Sow a seed. Go out of your way to treat him/her well. Be friendly and outgoing, and do your job well...and then volunteer to do a bit more than required.

Need encouragement? Sow a seed by encouraging someone else that needs it.

Can't make ends meet? Sow a seed by helping someone else worse off than you.

Here are some examples of what God meant by "with the same measure you use, it will be measured back to you":

If you sow steadily and faithfully, you will receive a harvest steadily and faithfully.

Sow a little, reap a little. Sow a lot, reap a lot.

Sow inconsistently, reap inconsistently. Sow consistently, reap consistently.

Sow irregularly, reap irregularly. Sow regularly, reap regularly.

Sow discontentment, reap discontentment. Sow contentment, reap contentment.

Are you unhappy with any part of your life? Do you find it difficult to, like Paul, be content in whatever state you are in?

If so, I have a question for you: What are you sowing, and how are you sowing it? (OK, that's 2 questions...)

Pray that God reveal WHY you are discontented, and then sow a seed to harvest the desired outcome.

An anonymous Facebook poster came up with this Kingdom principle: "If what you have is not what you need, it's not your harvest, it's your seed"

I pray that your seed always be good, your harvest plentiful, and your state content.


27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Waiting... on God's provision

God provides for His people. Always! There are times He provides in ways: we can see we can't see while we wait There are countless times in my life that I have seen the provision of the Lord! It's

Good Friday Passover Service

For those of you who could not make it to our joint Good Friday Passover Service, below is the Seder Haggadah (the program) that we used. Passover Seder Haggadah, April 19, 2019 This day shall be for

bottom of page